Posted in Uncategorized

Booklikes-opoly 2020 Roll #4

Last roll I landed on Space #19, and read a book whose cover is more than 50% blue:

 

The Ocean at the End of the Lane by Neil Gaiman which is 259 pages ($3.00)

 

Current Bank: $23.00

 

My next roll:

 

Landing me on:

 

A Science Fiction book is an easy one for me. I’m going to read Tool of War by Paolo Bacigalupi. 

 

 

 

Original post:
readingismyescape.booklikes.com/post/2774334/booklikes-opoly-2020-roll-4

Posted in Uncategorized

The Ocean at the End of the Lane – audiobook

Review:

The Ocean at the End of the Lane - Neil Gaiman

Audience: Adult

Format: Audiobook/Owned

 

 

It was only a duck pond, out at the back of the farm.

– first sentence

 

Neil Gaiman’s voice is amazing. I loved listening to him narrate this story. Basically this story is about growing up and how at seven years old, adults seem so big and important, yet disconnected from childhood. The narrator of the book is an adult who is remembering an event that occurred in his childhood (when it is so much easier to believe in magic and monsters).

 

I enjoyed the story and especially the narrator’s childhood friend, Lettie Hempstock. It was a quick listen and had some creepy parts. It is interesting how much differently we see things as adults compared to how it seems to children. 

 

I read this for Booklikes-opoly Pandemic Edition, space #19 as a book whose cover is more than 50% blue.

Original post:
readingismyescape.booklikes.com/post/2774263/the-ocean-at-the-end-of-the-lane-audiobook

Posted in Uncategorized

Last Firehawk Book #8 – The Silver Swamp

Review:

The Silver Swamp - Katrina Charman

Audience: Early Elementary (1st-3rd)

Format: Ebook/Library Copy

 

Tag and Skyla stood in a dusty clearing and examined the magical map.

– first sentence

This is a cute story, with animal main characters who are on a quest. This is the first book of the series I read, but the kids at school love it. There is an introduction at the beginning of the book to remind kids what the characters are currently facing (the story continues from book to book).  The Branches books are a gentle bridge into chapter books for early readers. They still have pictures, but the stories are more complex and interesting. A great series for kids who like magical animals and adventure.

Original post:
readingismyescape.booklikes.com/post/2774213/last-firehawk-book-8-the-silver-swamp

Posted in Uncategorized

The Passage by Justin Cronin

Review:

The Passage - Justin Cronin

Audience: Adult

Format: eBook/Library Copy

 

Before she became the Girl from Nowhere — the One Who Walked In, the First and Last and Only, who lived a thousand years — she was just a little girl in Iowa, named Amy.

– opening sentence

 

 

This book is amazing. I bought it several years ago for some reason that I can’t remember. Maybe it was the comparisons to Stephen King or maybe it was King’s own words, “a trilogy that will stand as one of the great achievements in American fantasy fiction.” Then, last year, a tv show called The Passage aired, starring Mark-Paul Gosselaar as Agent Wolgast. I enjoyed the show and when I saw The Passage on my kindle, I decided to read it.

 

The action in this story occurs all around the United States (in Philadelphia, Colorado, Oregon, California, Texas, etc.) and across a hundred years and I loved every minute of it. I couldn’t put the book down and immediately started book 2 when I finished (at 897 pages that’s saying something). A government agency scientist is exploring an ancient virus he discovered and using it on death row inmates. Of course, the government loses control, and the Virals (basically vampires) escape ending the world. We don’t get to see too many details but later the book resumes after 100 years passes. I was surprised by the time jump, but it works and it ends up all tying together which was very satisfying.

 

Highly recommended! 

Original post:
readingismyescape.booklikes.com/post/2732224/the-passage-by-justin-cronin

Posted in Uncategorized

Booklikes-opoly 2020 Roll #2

Well, I couldn’t find anything that fit space #9 that I wanted to read. So, I am rolling again today.

 

 

Opening bank: $20.00

 

That lands me on:

 

 

I’m looking but I haven’t seen anything that matches this on my physical shelf. I am hoping to read some physical books with this game since I tend to read ebooks or listen to audiobooks more often (and hopefully cut down on the unread books sitting on my shelf). So, I think I will roll again tomorrow. I think the rule is we can roll every day now, but correct me if I’m wrong.

 

Original post:
readingismyescape.booklikes.com/post/2732079/booklikes-opoly-2020-roll-2

Posted in Uncategorized

Stepping Stones – graphic novel

Review:

Stepping Stones - Lucy Knisley

Audience: Middle Grade

Format: Ebook/Library Copy

 

Things I miss about the city:

– second panel 

 

This is a cute story about a girl whose mom moved her from the city to a farm in the country. Jen doesn’t like the farm and doesn’t want to take care of chickens. She misses her dad who is still in the city. Her parents are divorced and Jen’s mom has moved to the farm with Walter, “her new BFF.”

 

Jen is a sweet girl and I totally understood her issues. When Walter’s two daughters from his previous marriage come to the farm on weekends, it is a challenge for Jen to adjust (she is an only child). But she ends up learning from the girls and they learn from her as well. The message of the book is that everyone is good at something and nobody is good at everything, but everyone is important.

 

Cute and recommended for fans of Smile, Roller Girl, Drama, etc.

Original post:
readingismyescape.booklikes.com/post/2720796/stepping-stones-graphic-novel

Posted in Uncategorized

The Ballad of Songbirds & Snakes – audiobook

Review:

The Ballad of Songbirds and Snakes - Suzanne  Collins

Audience: Young Adult

Format: Audiobook/Library Copy

 

 

Coriolanus released the fistful of cabbage into the pot of boiling water and swore that one day it would never pass his lips again.

– first sentence

 

This is a prequel to the Hunger Games series, set during the tenth Hunger Games (Katniss volunteers for the 74th Hunger Games). Coriolanus Snow is a teenager and in school. He and some of his classmates are selected to mentor the 24 tributes. Snow is irritated when he is chosen to mentor the girl from District 12 – Lucy Gray Baird.

 

Snow’s family is poor (a result of the war with the districts) but he doesn’t want anyone to know. He sees himself as better than pretty much everyone else, especially people from the districts. His chilly attitude and selfishness make him difficult to like, then again we aren’t supposed to like him, are we. 

 

The book wasn’t as exciting or page-turning as the original series, but I enjoyed it. The ending was expected but still sad and unfortunate. The one thing this book did was make me want to reread the original series.

 

 

Original post:
readingismyescape.booklikes.com/post/2720394/the-ballad-of-songbirds-snakes-audiobook